Faculty Advisory Council

The Energy Institute’s Faculty Advisory Council (FAC) serves as an advisory body to the EI, guiding its activities toward providing high-value support to the work done by the campus energy-research community. FAC includes faculty members and research scientists from across UT’s diverse energy research portfolio to form a multi-disciplinary and representative council. FAC members play a critical role for EI by serving as the main link between the EI and their respective Schools/Departments for the bi-directional flow of information, serving as a trusted sounding board for feedback on research projects and coordination, outreach and events strategy, and other EI activities. With these objectives, the FAC plays an important role in guiding the execution of EI’s activities.

Currently, the FAC consists of the following members:


          David Adelman

          Harry Reasoner Regents Chair in Law

          (Law School)

          John Butler

          Program Director of M.S. Finance

          Associate Director of Energy Management and Innovation Center

          (McCombs School of Business)

          Richard Chuchla

          Leslie Bowling Professor in Geological Sciences

          Program Director, Energy and Earth Resources Graduate Program

          (Jackson School of Geosciences)

          Arumugam “Ram” Manthiram

          Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering # 5

          (Cockrell School of Engineering)

          Michael Marder

          Professor of Physics and Executive Director – UTeach

          (College of Natural Sciences)

          Art Markman

          Annabel Irion Worsham Centennial Professor

          Director of IC2 Institute

          (College of Liberal Arts)

          Sheila Olmstead

          Professor of Public Affairs

          (LBJ School of Public Affairs)

          Bridget Scanlon

          Senior Research Scientist, Bureau of Economic Geology

          (Jackson School of Geosciences)